10-14-2018 08:38:31 PM -0700
10-14-2018 03:24:28 PM -0700
10-14-2018 11:24:26 AM -0700
10-14-2018 08:41:51 AM -0700
10-13-2018 05:58:15 PM -0700
It looks like you've previously blocked notifications. If you'd like to receive them, please update your browser permissions.
Desktop Notifications are  | 
Get instant alerts on your desktop.
Turn on desktop notifications?
Remind me later.
PJ Media encourages you to read our updated PRIVACY POLICY and COOKIE POLICY.

NFL Says Clown Car Refs Missed Call at End of MNF Game

The National Football League issued a statement today confirming what anyone who's not a Seattle Seahawks fan and who wasn't masquerading as a professional football official already knew; Seahawks wide receiver Golden Tate committed blatant, obvious, and criminal interference on the last play of the game that cost the Green Bay Packers the contest.

As for the other egregious error by the Pop Warner officials -- the sure interception by Green Bay cornerback M.D. Jennings -- the league stood behind the decision of the referee who decided that one hand by Tate on the ball constituted "simultaneous possession," despite the fact that Jennings was clutching the ball to his chest and clearly had sole possession of the rock.

For those who missed it, a brief summary:

On the final play of "Monday Night Football," Russell Wilson heaved a 24-yard pass into a scrum in the end zone with Seattle trailing 12-7. Tate shoved away a defender with both hands, and the NFL acknowledged Tuesday he should have been penalized, which would have clinched a Packers victory. But that lack of a call cannot be reviewed by instant replay.

Tate and Green Bay safety M.D. Jennings then both got their hands on the ball, though the Packers insisted Jennings had clear possession for a game-ending interception.

"It was pinned to my chest the whole time," Jennings said.

Instead, the officials ruled on the field that the two had simultaneous possession, which counts as a reception. Once that happened, the NFL said, the referee was correct that no indisputable visual evidence existed on review to overturn the touchdown call.

That's nonsense. Replays clearly showed Jennings in possession of the ball before Tate managed to get a hand on it. By the time the referee sauntered over to take a look-see, Tate had wrapped both hands around the ball -- while it was still glued to Jenning's chest.

In a perfect metaphor for the abysmal officiating that has plauged the games this season, the referee raised both arms to signal a touchdown for Seattle while the line judge, who was actually closer to the play, waved his arms to stop the clock -- a signal for a change of possession. Here's the pic: