Legislating 10 Hours of Pre-Wedding Marriage Education?
As California Goes, So Goes Colorado.
January 27, 2014 - 4:00 pm
It’s sad to watch my once-proud state descend into California-level insanity, but here’s yet another example of just that:
A proposed ballot initiative in Colorado would require couples to undergo 10 hours of pre-wedding marriage education before they can legally tie the knot.
The measure, proposed by the California-based group Kids Against Divorce, would then require people who are marrying for a second time to clock 20 hours of counseling, 30 hours for a third marriage and so on, the Denver Post reported.
Kids Against Divorce? The name of this phony-balony group might as well be “For the Children!™”
I’m reminded of anti-drunk driving laws. A laudable effort, to be sure, but an entire quasi-private industry has grown up around the laws. Instead of paying your fines and doing your community service, offenders also have to endure hours of “support” lessons. It’s a state-mandated industry for otherwise unemployable lefties.
If this thing becomes a part of the state constitution, we’ll have another quasi-private industry for pre-marriage counseling.
And I’d honestly rather live in sin than pay any money to these charlatans.
image via shutterstock / Anton Gvozdikov