The PJ Tatler

Legislators form 'Don't Touch My Junk' caucus

They’re not actually calling it that, though it would be cool if they did. And that’s not their flag over on the right, though it would be cool if it were. The legislators have given the caucus a more dignified, but less clear, name: “United States for Travel Freedom.

Primary organizers are Alaska State Representative Sharon Cissna and Washington State Senator Val Stevens. Republican and Democrat legislators from Alaska, Hawaii, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Texas and Washington have pledged to work together for common goals to oppose what is perceived as an ever growing threat to liberty by the TSA. Additional state legislative participation is anticipated.

Each of the lawmakers involved to date has introduced legislation in their state to curb what they, and their state’s citizens, believe to be  excessive power by the TSA.

Specific issues include constitutional rights, invasion of privacy and civil rights, child protection and fiscal issues. Many of the state bills call for individual state prohibitions on TSA procedures with the ultimate goal federal action against the operations of the TSA itself.