The PJ Tatler

Congressional Term Limits Bill Introduced

Sens. David Vitter (R-La.), Pat Toomey (R-Pa.) and others reignited the push for congressional term limits by reintroducing legislation today.

The bill would create a constitutional amendment that limits lawmakers to three terms in the House and two in the Senate.

“Not allowing individuals to remain in office for an eternity is an important step we need to take to restore confidence in Congress,” said Vitter, who’s in his second term. “Call it Potomac Fever, or whatever you’d like, but the longer some folks are in Washington, the more taxpayer money they want to spend.”

“Congress should not be a body of career politicians who have forgotten why they were sent to Washington in the first place,” said Toomey, in his first term in the upper chamber. “We are here to do the people’s work, to solve the problems we face, and to leave to our children a stronger, safer, more prosperous nation. I kept my promise to serve just three terms in the House of Representatives.”

Co-sponsors of the legislation include Sens. Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.), Tom Coburn (R-Okla.),  Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Rand Paul (R-Ky.) and Marco Rubio (R-Fla.).