PJ Media encourages you to read our updated PRIVACY POLICY and COOKIE POLICY.

July 10, 2018

ON THIS DAY IN 1890, WYOMING BECAME A STATE:  There’s an interesting backstory here:  The Wyoming Territory’s constitution had been the first to guarantee women the right to vote.  But when Wyoming initially applied for statehood, this created controversy.  Fearing that women in long-established states would be emboldened by Wyoming’s example, some Members of Congress initially insisted that Wyoming withdraw women’s right to vote. But the Wyoming legislature stood its ground and cabled back to Congressional leaders, “We will remain out of the Union one hundred years rather than come in without the women.”

Congress eventually relented, and before the turn of the century, there were four women’s suffrage states–Wyoming, Utah, Colorado and Idaho.