Monday's HOT MIC

Monday's HOT MIC

Ta-Nehisi Coates: Kaepernick in the tradition of Ida Wells, Harriet Tubman, Mohammed Ali.

Yes, The Atlantic's resident black journalist seems to think this.

I just finished his upcoming book, We Were Eight Years in Power: An American Tragedy. You know what Ta-Nehisi Coates also thinks? Trump won because of white supremacy — the same kind of white supremacy that started lynchings after blacks were elected to Congress following the Civil War.

No, I'm not making this up. "Eight years in power" is a reference to the time of Reconstruction, when the Union (North) government enforced equality on the former Confederate states. Black people entered Congress, served well, but then were pulled out by whites reasserting power after Reconstruction. Coates thinks Trump is today's equivalent of this.

He writes really well, but the guy suffers from some serious mania. He's spot on about the Civil War, but he needs to understand that people oppose Obamacare because it increases the size-and-scope of government, not because its creator was black. 2016 is not 1885.

Here's my full response to his book.