Other senators voting against the defense authorization bill were Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Al Franken (D-Minn.), Tom Harkin (D-Iowa), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), James Risch (R-Idaho), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.) and Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa).

Sen. Rob Portman (R-Ohio), a member of the Armed Services Committee, said he was “happy” to see the bill pass.

“We faced hurdles in bringing this bill to the Senate floor, and I remain frustrated that it took so long to pass this bill so critical to the safety and livelihood of our servicemen and women and to the security of our country,” Portman said. “I am pleased that the Senate was finally able to push the bill over the finish line and ensure that our taxpayer dollars are spent wisely without compromising our national defense.”